An honest assessment

He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else.

-Benjamin Franklin

If you are a supporter of the President, I ask you honestly, how many times have you heard him blame the economy he inherited, or the deficit he inherited, or the wars or tax cuts that were not paid for?  I know you, like me, want him to take action to fix the problems we face, regardless of whose fault they are.  Now I ask you: Is he fixing the problems?  Are we moving in the right direction?  Are we better off than we were when he took office?  Or is he simply still blaming our trouble on someone else?

He has had four years to help get the economy going in the right direction, and it has gotten worse.  This is one of the many things I feared would happen after he was elected.  When President Obama took office, the unemployment rate was at 7.6%, and he signed the stimulus bill with the claim that it would keep the rate from reaching 8%.  Since it passed, we have had more than 40 consecutive months of unemployment above 8%, the most since the Great Depression.  And if the same criteria were used to calculate the unemployment rate today as it was in January, 2009, the rate would be around 10%.

In light of this, I would expect a leader to say, “This is unacceptable.  I will not sit by and let this happen, so here is what we are going to do…”  But I don’t hear that from Mr. Obama.  Outside of the occasional “We’re moving in the right direction” and seemingly made up numbers about jobs created or saved, I hear blaming and name calling.  And that’s not leadership.

If you voted for Obama last election and are disappointed, as I am, consider the alternative this time.  Because what Obama is really saying when he blames someone else is that he doesn’t know how to fix the problem.  And if that is the case, we need to elect someone who does.

