See What I Mean?

There was our president this week, inspiring me to continue with my new year’s resolution.  In assessing the surprising election of Scott Brown – a republican – in Massachusetts, Obama found a way to blame former president Bush.

The same thing that swept Scott Brown into office swept me into office.   People are angry, and they’re frustrated.  Not just because of what’s happened in the last year or two years, but what’s happened over the last eight years.

So the people of the Bay State were so mad at Bush that they elected a republican to the US senate for the first time in nearly 40 years?  Right.  I don’t think Obama really believes this, but he knows the press will eat it up, and that some people will buy it.

During the election season of 2008, people were mad at Bush mostly for acting like a democrat – out of control spending, running up a big federal deficit, abandoning free market principles in bailing out the banks, wanting amnesty for illegal immigrants, etc, etc.  After the election I shook my head at many I knew who, for those reasons and more, voted for a man who I knew would only do more of the same.  But they fell for the rhetoric of hope and change.  Refusing to look at actions instead of listening to words while lamenting typical politicians who are all talk and no action, America now rises up in anger.  Better late than never I suppose.

Yay, Mr. President!  Stay with the new year’s resolution!

